4 ways to stop overthinking from self-sabotaging your goals

Sharing my strategies as an over thinker on a entrepreneurial journey

Sirene26
5 min readDec 9, 2021

--

Photo by Marco Allegretti on Unsplash

Self-sabotage happens when you undermine your own success despite your dreams, values or aspirations. It is when we subconsciously or knowingly take steps that prevent ourselves from reaching our goals.

It affects all of us on different levels. For some, it can be debilitating. As an overthinker, I have self-sabotage myself countless of times. Most of the times, I did reach the goals, but it took me longer than needed.

Self-sabotage can be toxic. A great example of conscious self-sabotage is when you overeat when you just embarked on a fitness goal. You spiral in a negative state where one mishap of eating badly make you feel guilty and you go back to your old habits.

In this article, I am making the connection between self-sabotage and overthinking. I always thought I self-sabotaged because of the fear of failure and rejection.

But since I moved from being an employee to starting my own business, I have become aware of negative patterns that relates to my overthinking nature:

- I am overcritical of everything am crafting as part of the business.

--

--

Sirene26

Top writer. Life Lessons through Work|Health|Personal Growth. Self-published author : www.amazon.com/dp/B0BPYWN9F2