Toxic positivity has to die a toxic death

Let’s eradicate this mental virus along with the coronavirus

Sirene26
4 min readJan 4, 2022

--

Photo by Estúdio Bloom on Unsplash

In the early stages of my coaching business, I went to Ottawa to work on the website with my friend. Her new boyfriend happened to be there. We bonded.

During a heart to heart conversation, I was telling them a few of my travel stories. And at one point, he was shocked and went: ‘I thought you were so perfect, since you are a coach’.

I found that extremely interesting. Because the whole essence of coaching is having surmounted obstacles and can thus guide people along the way.

We are humans after all

But as humans, we are used to pigeonholing others. I have done it too. You attached perfect personas to celebrities, successful people and apparently coaches too.

If all life coaches had perfect lives, they would be miserable. Because the perfect life does not exist.

Yet we are so scared to say, we are not fine. Because it makes us look weak, as If we have failed.

This reminds me of Ross in Friends, when Rachel and Joey announced they were dating, and he blurts out in a squeaky voice: ‘I am fiiiiine’.

--

--

Sirene26

Top writer. Life Lessons through Work|Health|Personal Growth. Self-published author : www.amazon.com/dp/B0BPYWN9F2